Naked Selfies

>Naked Selfies

Show everything and you are!

Milo Moiré’s performance series Naked Selfies thematize and caricature the pop-cultural mass phenomenon of self-portraits in social media. Equipped with a tripod camera and self-timer, the entirely naked artist invited people in Paris (Place du Trocadéro), Berlin (Alexanderplatz), Düsseldorf (Rheinuferpromenade and NRW-Forum during the exhibition “Ego update”) and Basel (Barfüsserplatz during the Art Basel) to take a selfie together with her. In contrast to Moiré`s previous performances like “Plopegg Painting Performance– A Birth of a Picture”, which was performed during the Art Cologne 2014 or „The Script System“ in 2013/2014, this work requires interaction.

Moiré stated that, here, stripping down to her bare skin is more than symbolism: „Through this physical, bodily interaction between me as a self-exposing avatar and the people wanting a selfie, I want to establish a point of contact between the real and the digital revelation of intimacy.“ It is a public collision between palpable and abstract privacy. With her “Naked Selfies,” she embodies a caricature of self-presentation and represents the link between tangible and virtual life.

“The people who take a naked selfie with me actually disclose something about themselves, present themselves to the world with a statement. Show everything and you are!“, Moiré says. We all reveal ourselves constantly on Facebook and Instagram, showing where we are, with whom, what we’re doing…in fact, exhibiting all kinds of sensitive personal data in the internet. In the “Naked Selfies,” we can also observe how tempting and pleasurable it is to focus on and to form our own identities. Countless volunteers took advantage of this opportunity to present themselves with the artist.

Nackt Selfies

On Sunday, July 5, 2015, Milo Moiré was arrested in Paris when she carried out her Naked Selfies Performance on the Place du Trocadéro, in front of Paris’s Eiffel Tower.  After her release from prison Milo announced: “They could take my body captive, but my spirit remained free. Freedom is the greatest good in our society. I will continue and will carry out my performances in other countries.”

 

2018-03-14T14:36:23+00:00 November 15th, 2015|Performance-en|

Zeige alles und Du bist!

Milo Moiré’s Performance-Reihe Nackt Selfies thematisieren und karikieren das pop-kulturelle Massenphänomen der Selbstentblössungs-Selbstbildnisse in den sozialen Medien. Ausgestattet mit einer Stativ-Kamera und einem Selbstauslöser forderte sie völlig unbekleidet Menschen in Paris (Trocadéro Platz), Berlin (Alexanderplatz), Düsseldorf (Rheinufer und NRW-Forum zur Ausstellung „Ego update“) und Basel (Barfüsserplatz zur Art Basel) zu einem gemeinsamen Selfie auf. Anders als bei Moiré’s vorherigen Performances wie beispielsweise Plopegg Painting anlässlich der Art Cologne 2014 oder Script System 2013/2014 setzt die Kunstaktion Nackt Selfies einen direkten Kontakt mit den Anwesenden voraus.

Dass sich bis auf die Haut zeigen ist hier mehr als eine Verbildlichung so Moiré: „Ich will durch die leibhaftige Interaktion zwischen mir als Selbstentblößungs-Avatar und dem Selfie-Willigen einen Berührungspunkt zwischen der realen und der digital offenbarten Intimität schaffen. Es ist ein Aufeinandertreffen der greifbaren und der abstrakten Privatheit in der Öffentlichkeit.“ Sie verkörpert mit Nackt Selfies eine Karikatur des Sich-Zeigens und repräsentiert das Bindeglied zwischen dem fassbaren und dem virtuellen Leben.

„Wer mit mir ein Nackt-Selfie macht, gibt ja auch etwas von sich preis, zeigt sich der Welt mit einem Statement. Zeige alles und Du bist!“, so die Künstlerin. Wir alle offenbaren uns ständig auf Facebook und Instagram, dokumentieren wo wir sind, mit wem, was wir machen, faktisch hinterlegen wir verschiedenste persönliche Daten im Internet. Wie verlockend und vergnüglich es ist, sich auf seine eigene Identität zu fokussieren und diese zu gestalten war auch bei Nackt Selfies zu beobachten. Unzählige Freiwillige liessen es sich nicht nehmen sich mit der Künstlerin in Szene zu setzen.

Nackt Selfies

Milo Moiré wurde am Sonntag Nachmittag 5. Juli 2015 auf dem Trocadéro Platz in Paris während ihrer Nackt Selfie Performance vor dem Eifelturm verhaftet. Nach einem 16-stündigen Aufenthalt in der Gefängniszelle wurde sie nach einem richterlichen Beschluss wieder freigelassen, straffrei.