Mirror Box

>Mirror Box

A Mirror of Consent in Sexual Activity

Milo Moiré’s performance Mirror Box is a societal reflection of human sexuality. What happens when a woman puts her sexuality on public display, assertively takes the initiative and lays out clear rules for the intimate interaction? Performance artist Milo Moiré wears a trapezoidal skirt made up of mirrored surfaces; a rectangular opening at the front is closed off by a red curtain. With a megaphone she invites passers-by to reach into the opening for 30 seconds, in order to touch her vagina. “I am standing here today for women’s rights and sexual self-determination. Women have a sexuality, just like men have one. However, women decide for themselves when and how they want to be touched and when they don’t”, declared the artist. 

 

Milo Moiré has carried out the “Mirror Box Performance” in Düsseldorf, with the Bosom-Box, as well as in London and Amsterdam, with the Vagina-Box. She was arrested for “outraging public decency” during her art action on London’s Trafalgar Square. After spending 24 hours in jail, a judge sentenced her to pay a fine of €1300 and ordered her release.

Mirror Box Milo Moire Busenbox Vaginabox

Mirror Box performance was based on the Cologne attacks, and the discussion about respect toward women. “After the sexual assault on hundreds of women on New Year’s Eve in Cologne, it is important to internalize images that show women as equal sexual partners and not as victims,” stated the artist. The consensual nature of sexual acts becomes a symbol here. Moiré has additionally taken the liberty of showing female desire, thus giving women a sexual voice. The artist supplements the dominant image of the female body as a mirror of male desire through the illumination of the libidinous black box of woman.

Inevitably it is not only one’s own self that becomes recognisable through the Mirror Box. The audience’s reflection on the mirrored box simultaneously becomes a visual metaphor for the role reversal from voyeur to the object of view: a constant play of inversions analogous to our roles in the digital world.

Mirror Box is a expanded reenactment of the “Tap and Touch Cinema” (1968) and a homage to the Austrian artist VALIE EXPORT, who was already fighting for women’s rights in the 1960s through artistic actions. Artivist Milo Moiré utilises her body as an instrument, even as a weapon, in order to depict and disrupt power structures. She aggressively seeks the feminine expression of sexual self-determination and ventures along the boundaries of art and predictable morality.


2018-03-14T14:36:07+00:00 March 18th, 2017|Performance-en|

Ein Spiegel der Einvernehmlichkeit sexueller Handlung

Milo Moiré’s Performance Mirror Box ist eine gesellschaftliche Reflexion der menschlichen Sexualität. Was passiert wenn eine Frau ihre Sexualität öffentlich zur Schau stellt, mit Bestimmtheit die Initiative ergreift und dabei klare Regeln für den intimen Austausch vorgibt? Performancekünstlerin Milo Moiré trägt einen trapezförmigen Rock mit einer verspiegelten Oberfläche, vorne befindet eine viereckige Öffnung verschlossen durch einen roten Vorhang. Durch ein Megaphon lädt sie Passanten ein für 30 Sekunden in die Öffnung zu greifen um ihre Vagina zu berühren und dabei Augenkontakt zu halten. „Ich stehe heute hier für die Rechte der Frau und die sexuelle Selbstbestimmung. Frauen haben eine Sexualität wie auch Männer eine haben. Doch Frauen entscheiden selbst, wann und wie sie angefasst werden wollen und wann nicht“, verlautete die Künstlerin.

 

Die Mirror Box Performance wurde in Düsseldorf mit der Busen-Box, in London und Amsterdam mit der Vagina-Box durchgeführt. Milo Moiré wurde auf dem Trafalgar Square in London während ihrer Kunstaktion wegen „Gemeinschaftlicher Störung des öffentlichen Sittlichkeitsempfindens“ verhaftet. Nach 24 Stunden Gefängnisaufenthalt wurde sie nach einem richterlichen Urteil und einer Geldstrafe in Höhe von 1300 Euro wieder freigelassen.

Mirror Box Milo Moire Busenbox Vaginabox

„Nach den sexuellen Übergriffen an hunderten von Frauen während der Kölner Silvesternacht ist es wichtig Bilder zu verinnerlichen, die Frauen nicht als Opfer zeigen sondern als ebenbürtige sexuelle Partner“, so die Künstlerin. Die Einvernehmlichkeit sexueller Handlungen wird hier zum Symbol. Überdies nimmt sich Moiré das Recht heraus die weibliche Lust zu zeigen und damit Frauen eine sexuelle Stimme zu geben. Das vorherrschende Bild des weiblichen Körpers als Spiegel männlicher Lust ergänzt die Performancekünstlerin durch die Illumination der libidinösen Black-Box der Frau.

Unweigerlich wird nicht nur das eigene Selbst durch die Mirror Box erkenntlich. Zugleich werden die Reflexionen der Zuschauer auf der verspiegelten Box zum Sinnbild für den Rollentausch vom Voyeur zum Beobachteten. Ein ständiges Umkehrspiel analog unserer Rolle in der digitalen Welt.

Mirror Box ist ein erweitertes Reenactment des Tapp- und Tastkinos (1968) und darüber hinaus eine Hommage an die aussergewöhnliche Künstlerin VALIE EXPORT, die mit ihren Kunstaktionen bereits in den 1960er Jahren für die Frauenrechte eintrat. Artivistin Milo Moiré setzt ihren Körper als Instrument, gar als Waffe ein um Machtstrukturen darzustellen und aufzubrechen. Offensiv sucht sie nach dem weiblichen Ausdruck sexueller Selbstbestimmung und lotet die Grenzen der Kunst und der bürgerlichen Moral aus.

Mirror Box Dusseldorf

 

Mirror Box London Amsterdam